Thread: Getting around Greenbelt (the good, the needs improvement, and the ugly).

Post Thanks / Like

Default Getting around Greenbelt (the good, the needs improvement, and the ugly).

So I've started playing with a handlebar camera to illustrate rides. First efforts were to in my area and illustrate .

I'm still learning about how to edit all this raw video down, and how to put in captions and voice-over narration, so that it's easier to track the route while viewing. One thing I want to do eventually is create some shorter highlights videos to give local officials and planners sort of a bike's-eye view of some the areas around town where small improvements could make a big difference right away (like improving the area around Greenbelt metro drive), or where they need to take a radical re-do approach to planning (like along Greenbelt Road).

Anyhow, I took a couple rides this weekend to show some of the best and not-so-best areas around town.

Video 1 shows getting from old Greenbelt to the metro station (metro entrance at about 4:00 -- no bike lanes), the options for getting toward College Park via the Lake Artemesia road or the Indian Creek trail (starts around 14:00), and the pretty awful pedestrian and cycle-scape along Greenbelt Road in the Beltway Plaza area -- starts around 19:40).

Video 2 shows getting from Beltway Plaza back to Old Greenbelt (hint, take Ivy Lane and the connector trail to the 201 crossing at Crescent Road), the Spellman Overpass (over the BW Parkway to Greenbelt East, starts at about 16:45), getting to the Post Office (about 20:00) and Greenway Center (21:45), and the Northway/single track unofficial connection from Old Greenbelt to the Goddard Space Flight center access road (30:45 and featuring an unintended dismount and four-letter word).