Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
ELITE ELITE:  0

Thread: Commuting on the MBT from Union Station to Silver Spring Metro?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Commuting on the MBT from Union Station to Silver Spring Metro?

Hello everyone and good afternoon!

I am a new user to the site and have a question about commuting on the Metropolitan Branch Trail. I work right by the National Mall and it is my intention when I go into the office to ride the MBT to the Silver Spring Metro, where my car is parked. I have never done this before so I have some brief questions. If anyone could provide me with assistance I would be much appreciative:

It is my understanding that the MBT only goes as far as Brookland-CUA. Does anyone know the quickest route once the trail ends to get to where Silver Spring is?

I usually start and end early, and I leave work around 2:30. I assume there are others on the trail at that time too?

Thank you so much and I look forward to your responses!

Respectfully yours,

Mr. Steven

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome! I hope you found/received some suggestions. While I've ridden that way to Silver Spring a few times, I haven't done it frequently, or to commute. Others here may be able to offer specific suggestions on routes.

Regarding your question about the trail - the MBT gets a lot of use. Trails in general are getting more use during the pandemic. You are likely to encounter other users mid-afternoon. The number of users will likely go down in the winter, but I'd still anticipate encountering some people during your ride.

I'd also offer some general suggestions:
    - The Strava heatmap can be a useful tool to see which roads people are riding on and for planning routes: https://www.strava.com/heatmap#14.55....96093/hot/all
    - Google maps street view can be helpful to gauge what a street might be like .