Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
ELITE ELITE:  0

Thread: gearing up for colder weather commutes

Post Thanks / Like

Default gearing up for colder weather commutes

I was recently explaining how I continue commuting over winter to the interns in my office and realized that I should share a couple purchases I've made to the community here that have made a marked improvement for me.

First off, gloves. I've been through quite a few iterations of gloves over the past 3 years, but these have been far and away the best. I've been using them for the last 2 years now. I got a couple rips in seams but I sewed them back up and they're working great again. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 What I really like about them is the versatility. I wear them as high has 60 degrees comfortably and I've been fine with them down into the single digits. For me, below freezing I usually have to pull out the over mitten but it really keeps my hands warm but it's thin enough not to lose dexterity. At the end of the year last year I had the epiphany to slide a hand warmer (if needed) into the little pocket on the top but it hasn't been cold enough this year to test that idea out yet. Bonus is that they dry out really quickly so I don't have clammy and cold hands on the way home. If the hand warmer trick fails me this year I might try moose mitts/bar mitts.

Which brings me to my next two items which I got about a year ago and have really helped:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    and
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The hangar is amazing. I have an office but with a ceiling vent and no moving air, things don't dry as well. I can rotate a couple items through this throughout the day though. The shoe/boot attachment is really good for those rainy commutes to help dry out my shoes too.