Likes Likes:  8
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
ELITE ELITE:  0
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: Strava problem

  1. #21
    lordofthemark's Avatar
    lordofthemark is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The forgotten corner of Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    2,962
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by accordioneur View Post
    The GPS L1 and L2 frequencies are 1575 and 1227 MHz, respectively. Unless the power supply has a really strong upper harmonic or the GPS receiver has an IF in the 100-500 KHz range, I'm not convinced the power supply is interfering w/ GPS reception.
    Since I had this problem while walking, without my light, I am sure you are correct.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4,106
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    The gps in my old phone slowly got worse and worse over time until it was basically unusable (would take forever to register a location, would randomly say I was miles away from my actual location, would cut in and out frequently). Went downhill for probably 6 months. So, in my experience, it might be the first sign that the hardware is on its way out.

  3. #23
    lordofthemark's Avatar
    lordofthemark is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The forgotten corner of Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    2,962
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mstone View Post
    The gps in my old phone slowly got worse and worse over time until it was basically unusable (would take forever to register a location, would randomly say I was miles away from my actual location, would cut in and out frequently). Went downhill for probably 6 months. So, in my experience, it might be the first sign that the hardware is on its way out.
    Sigh.

    But, again, Google Maps seems to have my location perfectly. Is it not using location services based on the same hardware?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Arlington
    Posts
    203
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lordofthemark View Post
    Sigh.

    But, again, Google Maps seems to have my location perfectly. Is it not using location services based on the same hardware?
    Not sure exactly how the Google location services work, but in addition to GPS, it might also be using cell towers or WIFI networks (or even individual access points) to triangulate your location.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Arlington
    Posts
    1,316
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mstone View Post
    The gps in my old phone slowly got worse and worse over time until it was basically unusable (would take forever to register a location, would randomly say I was miles away from my actual location, would cut in and out frequently). Went downhill for probably 6 months. So, in my experience, it might be the first sign that the hardware is on its way out.
    So this is a thing. I wondered if this was a thing.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Falls Church, VA
    Posts
    829
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lordofthemark View Post
    I have not checked those places yet. I did try a full reboot, and tested by walking around with it in my suit pocket and in my hand. First time I started walking right after I turned Strava on (as I have always done when riding) with it in my pocket. Failed. Second time I walked with it in my hand - and watched it correctly estimate my speed and then when I saved, saw it had recorded the walk correctly. Third time I kept it open for a few seconds while I walked with it in my hand THEN put it in my pocket - and it seems to have stopped the second I put it in my pocket (or the moment the screen went blank?)


    Oh, I also turned Wifi off after the first walk, as it was interfering with all phone updates at the location I was at.
    Sounds to me like LSG may be right: your phone probably got a "power saver" update that turns off location services when the screen is off. Look in battery management settings.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4,106
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bentbike33 View Post
    Sounds to me like LSG may be right: your phone probably got a "power saver" update that turns off location services when the screen is off. Look in battery management settings.
    that's also definitely a thing

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4,106
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lordofthemark View Post
    Sigh.

    But, again, Google Maps seems to have my location perfectly. Is it not using location services based on the same hardware?
    I'd get different results from different apps at first (by the end nothing worked, but it started slow), with waze being the best, google maps being the second best, fitness trackers being the worst. You'd think they'd work the same but apparently not.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    312
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by accordioneur View Post
    The GPS L1 and L2 frequencies are 1575 and 1227 MHz, respectively. Unless the power supply has a really strong upper harmonic or the GPS receiver has an IF in the 100-500 KHz range, I'm not convinced the power supply is interfering w/ GPS reception.
    Unfortunately, such power supplies use square waves, which have high frequency component. I had a 12V power supply once that interfered with my TV Tuner. It took me a while to find the source. After opening it up, I found that it wasn't shielded. I got it from a US eBay seller. Another one; from another US eBay seller was shielded and never caused problems. However, it seems from the OP testing that the light is not the source of the problem.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    312
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I don't use Strava, but it seems this is a screen-off problem. However, as far as I know, it's not Android that turns the GPS chip off when the screen is off, but if all apps decide to stop requesting GPS data when the screen is off, then the chip is turned off. So, Android tells the app the screen is off, and the app turns off GPS requests. It's like YouTube app, if you want to listen to music, and not watch the video, you can't. YouTube app stops playing both Audio/Video when the screen is off, not Android.

    If Strava doesn't fix the problem, or if there are no settings to change, then one solution is to find an app that keeps GPS on even when the screen is off. So when Strava asks for GPS location, it's ready.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •