Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Creating a manual ride that will be accepted by the BAFS sync

  1. #1
    jrenaut's Avatar
    jrenaut is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Columbia Heights, DC
    Posts
    3,965

    Default Creating a manual ride that will be accepted by the BAFS sync

    Do we have a tried and proven technique for creating a "manual" ride that will actually get counted by the website? I know people have copied rides and re-loaded, but is there a way that anyone has found to do the whole thing from scratch?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Rosslyn
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Inquiring minds want to know!

  3. #3
    hozn's Avatar
    hozn is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Arlington
    Posts
    3,563

    Default

    I don't see why a ridewithgps.com gpx/txc export would not work.

  4. #4
    jrenaut's Avatar
    jrenaut is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Columbia Heights, DC
    Posts
    3,965

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hozn View Post
    I don't see why a ridewithgps.com gpx/txc export would not work.
    Doesn't it need time info? Can you do that with ridewithgps? I thought I tried it once and couldn't get it to work, but maybe that was user error.

  5. #5
    hozn's Avatar
    hozn is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Arlington
    Posts
    3,563

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jrenaut View Post
    Doesn't it need time info? Can you do that with ridewithgps? I thought I tried it once and couldn't get it to work, but maybe that was user error.
    Ah, I see your point. There is some concept of time (speed) in the GPX exports, I believe, but perhaps there is incorrect absolute time about when the activity was to occur. You could always pull open the XML and write a script to fix the timestamps. I haven't looked at a GPX or TCX file recently, but I remember them being pretty simple in structure.

  6. #6
    jrenaut's Avatar
    jrenaut is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Columbia Heights, DC
    Posts
    3,965

    Default

    I was hoping for a way that a non-technical participant could do it - it would be nice to have a thread to point people to when they email to say their phone died mid-ride or their Garmin bonked or whatever.

  7. #7
    hozn's Avatar
    hozn is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Arlington
    Posts
    3,563

    Default

    Well, if you wanted to make a tiny webapp in a Docker container that takes a GPX and just corrects the timestamps, we can put up a fixmyride.freezingsaddles.org utility or something.

    But, yeah, there's probably a way to do this that doesn't require custom software.

  8. #8
    Judd's Avatar
    Judd is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Arlington
    Posts
    2,623

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hozn View Post
    Well, if you wanted to make a tiny webapp in a Docker container that takes a GPX and just corrects the timestamps, we can put up a fixmyride.freezingsaddles.org utility or something.

    But, yeah, there's probably a way to do this that doesn't require custom software.
    Looks like someone has created this: gotoes.org/strava/Add_Timestamps_To_GPX.php

  9. #9
    hozn's Avatar
    hozn is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Arlington
    Posts
    3,563

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jrenaut View Post
    Doesn't it need time info? Can you do that with ridewithgps? I thought I tried it once and couldn't get it to work, but maybe that was user error.
    In looking at TCX files, it looks like ridewithgps.com uses the time the file was created. But there are a few other elements in the RWGPS "course" that are not present for a "history" (ride) file -- and vice versa. I haven't tried uploading the course to strava, but if it complained, it's probably because of these extra metadata elements that are present for courses.

  10. #10
    hozn's Avatar
    hozn is offline I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Arlington
    Posts
    3,563

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Judd View Post
    Looks like someone has created this: gotoes.org/strava/Add_Timestamps_To_GPX.php
    That with a GPX export from RWGPS might just work w/o any tweaking! Good find.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •