Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pannier or Backpack for Business Attire

Post Thanks / Like

Default Pannier or Backpack for Business Attire

Currently I wear utility kit that I can jam into my backpack on my way to work without so much as a worry about wrinkles. In August, though, I'll be starting an academic program that requires slacks, a tie, and a button up shirt (I'll be able to stash a couple sport coats in a storage area at school).

I'm wondering if anyone can give me some pointers about bike commuting with stuff I have to iron (ironing tips also welcome). Is there a pannier or a backpack that keeps clothes from clumping together at the bottom that works best for you guys?

Creased and starched,
    CT

TwoWheelsDC is online now I really need to log off the internet and go for a ride.
    Post Thanks / Like

I've been using one of these for about 4 years, at various points stuffed into a backpack and pannier (mostly backpack though). Every day, I fold up pants and shirt, then throw in undershirt/socks/underwear. I keep my shoes at the office, but the Pack-It is small enough that I have enough room for shoes or other items like lunch.

3. Likes ChampionTier, EasyRider liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

There's probably an expensive purpose built bag for this, but here's a cheapo way.

Before you leave in the morning, fold your shirt and slacks clothes around a stiffening board made from coroplast, or some other lightweight, thin, rigid material. The idea is to make the board the core, and fold the clothes over it. Put the folded clothes+stiffener into a plastic grocery bag so that your clothes don't get abraded from rubbing against the inside of your backpack or bag. It's not perfect, but it'll get the job done.

5. Likes ChampionTier liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

1. Roll your clothes, don't fold them if you're using a general pannier/backpack. This seriously reduces wrinkles.