Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
ELITE ELITE:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cutting through army navy country club, any issues?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Cutting through army navy country club, any issues?

Hey all. I've read some good tips on cutting through the Army Navy Country Club to get from Nauck to the other side of 395 on this board. I've been commuting down past the Air Force memorial for a few years now, and I have become very tired of the impatient drivers. I don't feel like it's a safe option anymore, unfortunately. Columbia pike hasn't gotten any safer in my opinion.

I live off 18th street, which literally dead ends into ANCC. I never gave it any consideration before, but I've been told that it is acceptable to cut though via memorial drive to get across 395. I commute during regular 9-5 hours several days a week, taking the path next to pentagon that hugs Washington Blvd to the memorial bridge. The only part of my commute that has ever really concerned me is my commute down the pike.

Does anyone have experience with cutting through the army navy country club? Are you comfortable doing it? Do you get glares from anyone, or even stopped? This will give me a much safer commute if possible, -5 least until the pike is given the bike lane it desperately needs Any info is appreciated! Long time lurker on this board.

Post Thanks / Like

I feel the same way as you about being on/crossing Columbia pike and Glebe and their various intersections. The country club is my preferred way to get through that area. I'd say I've gone through there about 20 times over the past 2 years at all times of day/night and I've never gotten any flak for it. It is still posted private property though.

Post Thanks / Like

The road has signage implying that it's private, and it's got a heck of hill if you are westbound, but I've never had anyone give me the side eye. The landscaping crew was pretty friendly on a couple of occasions.