PDA

View Full Version : One Year With Spartacus, My Road Bike - Thank You

acc
07-07-2011, 09:16 PM
One year ago I bought my first road bike, named him Spartacus, climbed onto his saddle and promptly fell over in my driveway. That day he and I went on a very shaky five-mile ride into Falls Church and back to Vienna on the W&O Trail. By the time I got home I was covered in sweat and my legs felt as wobbly as a childís Slinky toy. But somewhere on that ride I had the briefest moment when I felt like I was flying. That evening all I could think about was how great it felt and how much I wanted to fly again.

I started riding whenever I could. I rode in 90+ degree weather, I rode when it was below freezing. I remember the first time I rode twenty miles. I was as excited as the day I graduated from high school. But there were awful days too. The first time I rode with a group I was dropped, got lost, and fell off Spartacus when a minivan startled me. I limped back to Wakefield bloody and humiliated. That was the only time I cried.

I survived bouncing off the side of a car in October, an idiot driver failed to stop when I was in the crosswalk. I walked away from a bad crash New Yearís Eve and did not sleep through the night for several weeks because my back and shoulder hurt so much. But I refused to quit. I slowly became faster and stronger, I went on a fifty-mile ride this spring and barely noticed, then went for sixty-eight just for the hell of it.

In January I found this forum and through it found friends and support, people who generously give their time and expertise about all things bike. I am forever grateful for your kindness, humor, and support. It has made all the difference. Thank you.