PDA

View Full Version : Brifters!



KelOnWheels
12-04-2012, 04:12 PM
My new brifters are waiting for me at my apartment!

OK, so how much trouble am I about to get myself into? :D

I expect I should change out the derailleur cables as they are ancient. The brake cables got changed when I had the new brakes put on.

ShawnoftheDread
12-04-2012, 06:55 PM
If your brifters have the cables already installed, it should be fairly easy provided you have a decent cable cutter. It took me about 15 minutes to change my grip shifters, though I should have replaced the cable housing but didn't.

Dirt
12-04-2012, 06:55 PM
You'll need new housing to go with those new cables. There are special cable and housing cutters that make cutting a very easy process. There's no substitute for the right cutting tool for cables and housing. The little ferrules (plastic things that go at the ends of the housing) are very important. They keep water out and keep the housing from cracking at the ends.

Sheldon Brown, may he rest in peace, is your friend. http://sheldonbrown.com/cables.html

KelOnWheels
12-04-2012, 09:10 PM
I shall have to get a cable cutter (or go down to VeloCity and borrow one). The brifters came with cables & housing.

thecyclingeconomist
12-10-2012, 08:04 AM
I shall have to get a cable cutter (or go down to VeloCity and borrow one). The brifters came with cables & housing.

Come over and we'll install in about 10 to 15 minutes. Get 4ft. of brake and 4ft. of shifter cable at the LBS. I have ferrules/cable cutter.

Shoot me a PM.

thecyclingeconomist
01-03-2013, 08:01 PM
You get this installed?


I shall have to get a cable cutter (or go down to VeloCity and borrow one). The brifters came with cables & housing.

KelOnWheels
01-03-2013, 08:05 PM
You get this installed?

Not yet, and I totally missed your previous post!

KelOnWheels
01-15-2013, 08:04 PM
Midway on the ride in this morning I noticed my rear brake lever was pulling a lot farther than the front one, which it wasn't doing yesterday... By midway on the ride home it was pulling all the way to the bar and I could NOT get the freakin barrel adjuster to turn...

Got home and managed to adjust it by unscrewing the adjuster quite far out. :(

Did one of my cables just decide to stretch a whole bunch or are my janky brifters trying to warn me of their (and my) imminent demise? I'd best get the new ones on!

Also my rear brake pads appear to be made of cheese as they are looking quite worn already. (When did I crash into the sidewalk and get the new brakes? Oh, end of August.)

I like cheese. What were we talking about?

krazygl00
01-15-2013, 10:27 PM
Midway on the ride in this morning I noticed my rear brake lever was pulling a lot farther than the front one, which it wasn't doing yesterday... By midway on the ride home it was pulling all the way to the bar and I could NOT get the freakin barrel adjuster to turn...

Got home and managed to adjust it by unscrewing the adjuster quite far out. :(

Did one of my cables just decide to stretch a whole bunch or are my janky brifters trying to warn me of their (and my) imminent demise? I'd best get the new ones on!

Also my rear brake pads appear to be made of cheese as they are looking quite worn already. (When did I crash into the sidewalk and get the new brakes? Oh, end of August.)

I like cheese. What were we talking about?

Probably one of your brake cable clamp nuts came loose. Loose nuts. That's your problem.

KelOnWheels
01-15-2013, 11:18 PM
Loose nuts. That's your problem.

Ain't that always the way...

KelOnWheels
01-16-2013, 09:59 AM
Probably one of your brake cable clamp nuts came loose.

I did try to check for that but I can't find anything obvious where any cable looks like it's slipped. SO MYSTERIOUS!

Tim Kelley
01-16-2013, 10:03 AM
I did try to check for that but I can't find anything obvious where any cable looks like it's slipped. SO MYSTERIOUS!

If it's not your nuts, maybe you have a screw loose?

DismalScientist
01-16-2013, 10:33 AM
Could you have lost a large chunk of your brake pads? (I don't grok the notion of "cheesy" pads.) As pads wear, it takes more cable pull to engage them.
Changing brake pads is a fairly simple procedure and would suggest doing so if they are excessively worn, hardened, or otherwise not up to spec.

KelOnWheels
01-17-2013, 08:23 PM
Seems I just wore out the pads and had some cable slippage. Now rockin some new KoolStop salmon pads courtesy of BicycleSpace.

And apparently I need to overhaul my headset. :P