PDA

View Full Version : local bike shops -- how to choose

xmlwave
07-17-2012, 08:41 AM
I am new to the bike trails here in Arlington, and would like to upgrade from my old and cheap Schwinn bike, but I am not sure where to start. Google search reveals several shops in the area:

Performance Bicycle
Freshbikes Cycling
Big Wheel Bikes
Revolution Cycles

I am looking for a basic lightweight hybrid or road bike for under $500.

I have been to Performance Bicycle at Bailey's Crossroads and was somewhat overwhelmed by the choices there. The prices seemed very reasonable. I haven't been to other stores, but I feel that I may not be able do "apples to apples" comparison with all these bicycle options.

Can someone recommend a local store for their service and prices? I will likely need ongoing help with the bike maintenance, as I am new to this, so I would like to get the bike from an established shop that would help with alignment, tuning, etc.

Oh, and would you recommend getting a bike online and then getting it to a shop for professional assembly, or should I just get it directly from the local shop?

KLizotte
07-17-2012, 10:12 AM
Freshbikes won't have anything you are looking for since it aims at the high end market. Spokes is a local chain that has a good selection of hybrids as does REI.

Under $500 is gonna be tough. Your best bet is to check the websites of the major manufacturers to see what they offer in your price range, look to see where their dealers are, then call the shops to see if they have what you interested in on the floor to try. Buying online is not a good idea unless you have a lot of experience with buying bikes.

You may also wish to check Phoenix Bikes near Shirlington to see if they have a used bike that may fit your needs.

consularrider
07-17-2012, 10:22 AM
Other options close by (there are so many to chose from):

REI (http://www.rei.com/stores/34) at Bailey's Crossroads